Anatomy of the Ankle

The ankle joint is made up of three bones: the tibia (shinbone), the fibula (a smaller bone in the lower leg) and the talus (a small bone between the heel bone, tibia and fibula).

In addition to these three bones, the ankle is also comprised of cartilage, which allows the bones to move smoothly against one another; ligaments, which attach bones to other bones; and tendons, which connect muscle to bones.

Screen shot 2016-08-04 at 3.19.30 PM